My Current Skincare Routine

Hey y’all! I’m back with another post, this time writing about my current skincare routine. I know you guys just want to hear all about my dysfunctional skin right? Fab. Let’s get into it.

As a teenager I really had issues with my skin between breakouts and acne scarring from said breakouts. As I got older my skin did in fact clear up but once I hit college (especially since I’ve hit 20), the breakouts came back in the worst way possible. For the most part I have dry, combination skin and the real problems come into play in the winter and summer months with flakiness or oiliness. For years I’ve been experimenting with different products trying to find the right combination for my specific skin type and I think I’ve finally found the key.

 Makeup Removal

Let’s face it guys, I love makeup. I love doing my makeup, getting my makeup done, doing other people’s makeup, long story short, I’m a makeup junkie. Needless to say, when I come home it’s safe to assume that I have a full face of makeup on that sadly, has to come off. To do this used to be a drag and I used to do whatever I could to make the processes as short, easy…basically as lazy as possible. Makeup wipes didn’t do the job because they didn’t remove all my  makeup, makeup remover didn’t either. What I’ve found that works for me is starting with the Neutrogena Fresh Foaming Cleanser, rinsing with cold water to start removing the makeup on my face then follow up with my favorite holy grail multiuse product, coconut oil. I then leave the oil on my face for a few minutes and then go in with a warm washcloth to remove the remnants of the makeup.

Clarifying

This step of my skin care routine I didn’t really know what to call, to be honest. I didn’t want to include it with makeup removal because this step I do when my face is completely makeup free. Awhile back I had received the Clinique Three Step Skin Care Set for Dry Skin as a gift and even though I loved it, sometimes using everything together left my skin feeling extra dry and flakey. Yeah, I know what you’re thinking — not a good look. So instead, I pick and chose which products to incorporate in my every day routine and which to use every once in a blue moon. For the sake of this routine though, I use the Clinique Step 2 Clarifying Lotion to pick up any dead skin and I like how refreshing it makes my skin feel.

Exfoliation

Yes! This is probably my favorite part of my skin care routine because it just makes me feel so good. Usually I exfoliate once a month for my body, twice a month for my face. However in the summer months I do this a little more frequently depending on how I’m feeling because more skin is exposed (duh). To do this, I use a hand made sugar scrub made with coconut oil and lavender essential oil.

Moisturizing

Here it is again, coconut oil. You guys are probably going to get really tired of hearing me talk about this, but it’s just that great. Since using it, my skin has never felt more clean or soft and it’s cleared up the majority of the acne scarring I have on my face.

That’s it for my skin care routine, I try to keep everything very simplistic ’cause…who has the time for a long, complicated skin care routine? What are some of your skin care essentials? Let me know in the comments!

signiture

Featured Image via

Leave a Reply

