School, Youth Group,and Faith: Weekly Round Up Vol. 1

For the most part I don’t really do rambley-ish type blog posts. However, with my Girl Talk series and now my Weekly Round Up series…there’s a first time for everything. And that’s great right? The purpose of Being Bailes is to share my life with you guys and give an inside look on life as a twenty-something navigating life in this upside down world we live in. So as I sit here, in my bed, with a half dozen Krispy Kreme donuts and caramel iced coffee rewatching Scandal from the beginning (currently having some major Olivia Pope style envy right now) I’m going to tell you guys what my week has consisted of…here we go

giphy2

School

Y’all. These basic graduation requirements are low-key the bane of my existence this semester. Right now I’m taking fifteen credit hours (five classes), and six of those hours (two classes) are basic general education requirements that everyone needs to graduate, while the rest are classes in my major. My two classes not in my major are a Spanish class and a music appreciation class. The music appreciation class isn’t so bad because my professor is great. However because of the fact that my parents put my brother and myself through private school throughout elementary school in order for us to get a firm educational foundation and then through the Charter school system…I’ve been taking Spanish since I was 4 years old. I’m darn near close to fluent. So I struggle with motivating myself to go to class because I get so bored!

It’s also midterm time so today after I manage to get my life I’m going to need to go to my car, get my binder, and get my materials together to prep for the massive amounts of studying I’m going to be doing for the next two weeks.

Youth Group

If you read my last Girl Talk post or have been following my blog for awhile, you know that I run youth group in my church, mentoring girls between 5 and 16. The group is called Blossoms, due to the fact that myself and the two other girls I work with agreed that the name was fitting because as young ladies you’re meant to blossom into the woman that God intends for you to be.

p03wv8tb

It’s been a struggle adjusting  and learning to run a ministry for me personally, probably because despite the fact I’m 21 I feel like a child. It’s like when you’re in a situation where shit hits the fan and you look for an adult to fix it…and you realize  you are the adult. It’s a little surreal but I feel blessed to have the opportunity  to work with such amazing, beautiful, and intelligent girls who have their whole lives ahead of them and the fact that their parents and my Bishop allowed the three of us to have a part in their development. Right now I’m in the process of planning activities for them for the next three months which is something easier said than done but we’ll see how it goes.

Faith

I’ve never necessarily been completely open about my faith, at least on the blog, but to give a little background on where I stand, I’m a church girl, I come from a church family. My grandparents had me in church from birth basically, my great grandparents, grandparents, and a whole slew of uncles, aunts and cousins are in the ministry as well. This being said, it’s basically understood in my house that every Friday, Sunday, Tuesdays if we were out of school, and occasionally other days throughout the week my brother and I were expected to be in church. However, recently I’ve felt somewhat separated from my faith, and desire to work on my relationship with God. I won’t go too in depth with my faith right now though, because I do see myself doing a Q & A blog post or video just on my faith alone.

That’s all for my weekly round up. Let me know what you guys think about these kind of posts and send me questions you want to ask for this potential Q & A if you’re interested in me doing one!

Until Next Time!

Leave a Reply

