Being Your Best “You”

Guys..let’s just say I’ve been in a slump. Creatively, mentally, emotionally…I’ve just been completely stuck in Slumpsville. Eventually though, I finally had a conversation with myself and said “Self, what are you doing girl?” …Yes those were my exact words to myself. I got to thinking about what exactly I need to do to be my best me and get back to regularly scheduled programming and so far it’s definitely worked.

Check Your Circle Ever come home from a night out with friends and just feel completely drained? Ever had a friend call you and you find yourself feeling a sense of dread so you just let the phone ring? Yeah been there. Sometimes our “friends” weigh us down with their problems and struggles and you just have to step back and have some time to yourself.

Do Something You Love Whether it’s blogging, painting, running, whatever it is, go out there and do it girl

Don’t Look Back on “Could Haves” I read something the other day and it really spoke to me. “Don’t ask God to restore a relationship that almost destroyed you”. This being said, often when we find ourselves in a slump we look back on past events, past relationships and you remember the good times but you don’t remember the reality of the situation. Don’t look back, always look forward.

Embrace Change Change can be a good thing. Often just by changing around a room, purging your wardrobe, or changing your hair color can provide a fresh outlook and motivate you to be the best you that well, you can be.

Explore Meditation It’s really that simple. Just taking a few quiet moments to yourself either in the morning or at night can do wonders. If you feel like you can’t focus to meditate (like me) try a guided meditation app. The app I use is called Calm and it even helps me sleep at night with the Sleep Stories feature in the app. I highly recommend it to all my iPhone users.

Those are my tips for being your best you. What do you guys do to get out of a slump?

Until Next Time!

Leave a Reply

